My Top 5 Favorite Paleoanthropology Twitter Accounts!

It’s no secret that I love Twitter. I find it useful for discovering what people are researching and what they’re writing about science and history, and–let’s face it–#FossilFriday is awesome! Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.09.48 AM

I’ve pulled together my top 5 FAVORITE accounts tweeting on paleoanthropology:

  1. The Leakey Foundation, @TheLeakeyFndtn. These folks always share the latest news in paleoanthropology–some of which is funded by them! Also, they have a great podcast! Go check it out.
  2. The Smithsonian’s Human Origins Program, @HumanOrigins. These folks are great at a sometimes forgotten aspect of social media (in education that is): being social! I love their comments on retweets and sharing of other people’s content. In addition, they provide insight on new discoveries from the experts at the Smithsonian! Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.18.24 AM
  3. Paleoanthropology+@Qafzeh. Nothing–and I mean nothing– related to human evolution gets overlooked by this account. Enough said. An amazing coverage of news, education, and more.
  4.  Chris Stringer, @ChrisStringer65. Although I think following ALL the paleoanthropologists on Twitter is a great way to watch research discussions unfold–I highlighted Dr. Stringer because he provides a balanced treatment of new discoveries–and his epic #FossilFriday posts!
  5. Roberto Sáez @robertosaezm. Definitely don’t miss out on Roberto’s tweets, especially when he shares new posts from his excellent blog, Nutcrackerman.com. (Roberto has written a guest post for my blog on Atapuerca)! Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.21.12 AM

BONUS: For anything and everything ice age related–from mammoths to Neandertals– you MUST check out @Jamie_Woodward_. If I were to give out twitter awards, he would win for best use of images, and approximately 27 other categories. Bottom line: Dr. Woodward’s feed is never boring.

Of course–there are TONS more. I’ve already started a list of my favorite history of science accounts, so stay tuned! How about you guys? Any paleoanthropology tweeps you think I missed? Let me know and I’ll include them in the future!

Leave a Reply

